• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 EvergreenRailfan

EvergreenRailfan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 2870 posts

Posted 13 May 2009 - 06:35 PM

In the case of Eastern Washington, I have suggested in the past that the purchase of the Palouse River and Coulee City RR should have included funding to increase train speeds to 79MPH between Spokane and Pullman, so passenger service could be brought back. I never expected a couple university students to do such a study. In the current state, this train may not happen anytime soon.

SeattlePi.com

The two schools in question, Washington State University in Pullman, and Eastern Washington University in Cheney, are rivals. 10 years ago, enrollment at EWU, which used to be only for teachers, had fallen so much, that Olympia considered merging the schools. It never happened, and now they are collaborating on a study. Oh, well. (I am an EWU Grad, by the way)

WSU landscape architecture students are conducting public surveys while EWU students are preparing a market analysis. WSU Associate Professor Bob Scarfo says the information will be presented to people with an interest in train service.

Whitman County Commissioner Greg Partch told the Moscow-Pullman Daily News the rail service would be beneficial but the county probably would not be able to provide any financial assistance.

Edited by EvergreenRailfan, 13 May 2009 - 06:36 PM.

#2 JayPea

JayPea

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 May 2009 - 09:34 PM

Hey, I'm an EWU grad, too! I vaguely remember the Spokane-Lewiston run the Northern Pacific did with Budd Rail Diesel Cars. I'd love to see a return to passenger service, too, though a lot has to happen first before it becomes reality. But at least the possibility is on the table.

#3 EvergreenRailfan

EvergreenRailfan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 2870 posts

Posted 14 May 2009 - 11:34 PM