#1 KevinKorell

KevinKorell

Board Leader

• Sr. Admin
  • PipPip
  • 82315 posts
  • Interests:Making America TRAIN again!

Posted 03 July 2014 - 12:44 AM

I've been doing Fests for 14 years now, and naturally there is always the concern that we will make all of our Amtrak connections and be able to proceed with the ambitious itinerary. So far we have not had any major misses, and we've completed our Fests wire to wire. One reason why I now write all Fests in the western 2/3 of the country to begin and end in Chicago is to eliminate my feeling any responsibility for our making connections through Chicago. That, and the fact that with three different trains between the east coast and Chicago, some may prefer to take a different route. This year, as our annual summer Fest takes us to Salt Lake City, Reno, and Denver, we are at the mercy of 2 westbound California Zephyrs and 2 eastbound California Zephyrs, plus any same-day connections that we have planned for ourselves through Chicago in both directions. Furthermore, some also need to worry about connections on the East Coast to and from Silver Service trains. Timekeeping has suffered this summer on many trains, including the California Zephyr, Capitol Limited, and Lake Shore Limited. With currently a week or so until many of us begin travel, there is good reason for pessimism as far as our plans working out.... perhaps more so than in the past several years. There is no Plan B for the Fest. I hope everyone realizes we are on our own, and if a major connection is missed, some may not be able to complete the entire trip, or even catch up to the rest of the group who might have made the same connection or originated from the connection city. Credit limits and balances may prohibit some of us from making alternate plans, even to salvage even a part of the Fest. Some may not be able to or wish to fly, and some may not want to travel Amtrak in coach if no sleepers are available on a later train. The group may therefore be