Mass Bay RRE and the DCR announce 2005
GRANITE RAILWAY QUARRY-TO-WHARF TOURS
Saturday - Sunday, April 30 &May 1
Sunday, May 22 (PM only)
Saturday - Sunday June 18 & 19 (Sun. PM only)
Saturday - Sunday July 30 & 31 (Sun. PM only)
Sunday, August 21 (PM only)
(Special tours possible for pre-formed groups)
A unique opportunity to explore the remnants of and learn much of the fact, and fable, about the first chartered commercial railroad in our nation, right here in West Quincy and East Milton, Mass., as seen on Channel 5's TV newsmagazine, Chronicle.
On a guided, limited-capacity, 3-1/2-hour van tour - and a bit on foot, if you'd like some exercise - we'll visit the preserved 1826 railway terminus at Bunker Hill Ledge (in illustration); several surviving segments of the old right-of-way; some quarries with spectacular views; the 1830 double-track incline; the Neponset River wharf; and several structures significant to the granite, iron and railroad industries in Quincy. See some pictures.
TWO TOURS EACH DAY (above) at 9 AM and 1 PM. (Sun. AM runs only with sufficient advance reservations). Convenient meeting place at the Quincy Historical Society, 8 Adams St., Quincy Center (rear parking lot, one block north of Quincy Center Red Line/ Commuter Rail T station). Pickup also available at Milton T station, 8:30 AM - ride a restored PCC car on the Ashmont-Mattapan "High Speed Line"!
$10 donation requested from all participants.
CALL EARLY; TOURS FILL QUICKLY!
(special tours possible for pre-formed groups)
Mass Bay RRE Tour Leader: Vic Campbell, 617-822-4046
Information for related activities/exhibits: DCR: 617-698-1802; Friends of the Blue Hills: 781-828-1805; Quincy Historical Society: 617-773-1144